hi, i'm suliat.

The meaning of basorexia.

Posted on: February 4, 2009

I found this site; it’s full of all these unusual words that I haven’t even heard of before.

http://users.tinyonline.co.uk/gswithenbank/unuwords.htm

It has a lot ofwords that I, like I said, have never heard of before. this makes me question whether or not the site is authentic. Thats something to think about then. :)

I came across it when I was looking for the meaning of the word anopisthography. It turns out it means “the art of writing on one side of the paper.”
:/
I kind of surprised me that someone would want a name for doing that; I mean I get told not to do that. You know “think of the trees”.
And then I found this word; basorexia which is “an overwhelming urge to neck or kiss” and is also “a strong craving or hunger for kissing “.

I found it so hilarious, especially because it kind of summarised exactly what I was feeling at that point.
:D
I kept saying it at school, which I must admit, probably scared some of my friends, even more so after I told them what it meant.

Speaking of school, it was a bit of a shock going back. I felt like it should be Monday, not Wednesday. We’ve had the last two days off so today was basically a mess of people going to the wrong places and thinking they had the wrong lessons. It was all very confusing.
And the little ones weren’t much help. The way they were acting, you’d think they’ve never seen snow before, running around all over the place.

Monday was the worst, I do not have enough fingers and toes to count how many people I saw fall over, some obviously doing it for the attention, but amusing nonetheless.

I also got this website from Wikipedia. I’m not really a fan of the site, but this was sent to me by a friend.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Passing_(racial_identity)

I didn’t find it shocking exactly, just a bit surprised. I have friends who are very light you would think they were white or mixed race, but it never occurred to me that people have had to use that to their advantage. At first I thought, and I may be wrong, but it seems almost as bad as a black girl bleaching herself just so she looks paler. It all seems a bit of a far step to go. But on reflection, it dawned on me that people who have done this, and got away with it, did so as a matter of necessity, a way to get a better quality of life. Much like for the same reason my family moved to Britain.

This is the longest post I’ve done so far, and I feel like I’m settling into the blogging world quite nicely.

suliat
your basorexic friend.

Leave a Reply

too much free time..

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

